Hello, my name is Chrissy Ray, and in these lessons, I'm going to show you how to make WordPress a bit more secure. We'll talk about managing users, monitoring your site's health, and using security plugins. Let's start off by managing the users for this website. To do that, you'll log into the WordPress dashboard and then go to the users menu. In the users menu, you'll see right now I am the only user. My name is Chrissy and my name is Chrissy Ray. I'll show you how to change that if you need to. You can see there's my email address and my role is administrator. That's really important. You wanna be careful adding administrators to your website. Only give the administrator role to people that you really trust with your website because they can do anything to your website. They can add plugins, they can add themes, they can change the way that it looks. They can add content, they can manage content. So be really careful with who you give that role to. And make sure that the person that you give it to knows how to use WordPress, because if they don't know how to use it, they might mess something up. Now, if you wanted to edit the user that already exists you would just click on their name, or click on the edit link. And you've got several settings in here. We're actually gonna scroll down a bit to the name section and you can see right now that I've got my first name and last name set here. And those are important because if you want your name to be displayed as your first name and last name, that's not really the default, you would need to set this display name publicly as to your first name and last name. So that way, when you add a post, if the theme supports adding a link to the author, it's going to display your name and not just your username. So just remember that. You can change your email address for your account if you need to. You would just need to type the new one in, and then you will need to confirm it before it actually goes through. So keep that in mind. Another thing you can do here is change the profile picture. To do that, you need to log into gravatar.com, which looks like this. You would need to use your wordpress.com username and password to log in there. Another thing that you can do for a user is set their password. So if you do need to reset a password for somebody, you can do that. And it's just gonna put in a random collection of letters, numbers, and special characters for the new password. If you're logged in other places when you reset the password, it's probably a good idea to log out that user everywhere else. So that way, if they're logged in on their phone, or if a hacker is logged in for example, then it's gonna log them all out. Now you might get some additional settings depending on any themes or plugins that you have installed. So I've got several settings here for user permissions and author archive settings. These are all set up by the theme that I've got installed. So if you do make changes to this, you can then click on update profile, and that's gonna show me that the profile was updated. I can then go back to all users to see any changes that I made, which are apparent here. Now, if you wanted to add a new user, you can just click on the add new button at the top. And I'm gonna add a new user, Suzanne. And it's gonna be suzanne@chocolateworld2.local. And we're gonna put Suzanne's first name, and there we go, okay. You can also add a website if you want to and if you wanted to have it generate a password or you can enter one in there. I usually just use the default generated password. If you don't like it, you can generate a new one. And I also like to send the user notification. That way they'll get an email from the administrator email of the website with a notification that a new account has been created. They can then log in and reset their password or they can go to the login screen and reset their password. The other thing you need to worry about is the role. So the roles range from subscriber to administrator. If you have certain plugins installed, you might see additional roles listed here as well. So make sure you understand what all of those roles can do. So for example, an administrator can do just about everything. An editor can't do everything, but it can do things like add and edit content. So you do wanna be careful and only give that role to people that can manage the content. So we're gonna give this user administrator privileges and click on add new user. So once I've done that, you can see I now have this user, Suzanne. And you can see when I move my mouse over Suzanne, I can send Suzanne a password reset. So if Suzanne forgot their password and couldn't figure out how to log in, they couldn't get their forgot password, then I can send them a password reset. That will send them a link in an email that has a password reset. So if they click on the link, it'll take 'em to the website and prompt them to update their password. You can see that this user is an administrator. Now, if I go into this user, if I click on edit for this user, you can see that I can change their role. So if I accidentally gave Suzanne the administrator role and I meant to give them an editor role, I can change that. And then I can make all of the other changes that I did for Chrissy and click on update user. Now, if you add a post as a user, so if I was to log out and then log back in as Suzanne and add a post to Suzanne and then I deleted Suzanne, I deleted that user, I would need to assign all of the content for that user to another user, or I would have to delete it. So you typically want to assign it to another user. Now notice when I move my mouse over Chrissy and Suzanne, I can't delete my own account. So that's a security protocol, security feature. You don't want to be able to delete your own account but I could delete the Suzanne account. And if Suzanne logged in, Suzanne could delete me. Well, actually, they couldn't anymore 'cause they're an editor. But when they were an administrator, they could have logged in and deleted me. So keep that in mind that the administrators can do really anything including deleting other people's accounts. So be careful with that. Now another thing you can do is view the user. So if I click on view, that's gonna take me to their user page. And I'm actually gonna view my user account so you can see this a little bit better. And you can see that's gonna be the author archive for that particular author. And you can see this is my name setting. Remember, I did that display name publicly as to Chrissy Ray. So that's why it says Chrissy Ray. And it's gonna give a list of all of the posts that I've created on the website. So you can see there's a lot of 'em. One more thing that I wanna show you here is that you do have the ability to do bulk operations to users. So if you click on this checkbox here, you can then delete multiple users at once and you can also send a password reset email to multiple users at one time. So if you had an issue with the website and you needed everybody to reset their passwords, you could do that. You can also change the role to another role. Just be aware that you can't change everybody to a role other than administrator because you need at least one administrator on the website. Thanks for watching, and stay tuned for the next lesson where I will show you how to monitor your site's health.